Meet the Thirteen Republicans Who Voted ‘No’ on the House GOP Tax Reform Bill

House Republicans passed the most substantial tax reform bill in decades, to the relief of conservatives across the country. Until now, Donald Trump’s presidency had been without a major legislative victory. That is never good when going into a midterm election year.

If the Senate also passes it’s proposed tax reform bill, the House version will have to be reconciled. If the Senate version doesn’t pass, then the Senate could still vote on the House legislation.

Judging by the Republicans who voted “no” on the House GOP bill, it’s going to be a tough fight to get a tax measure through the Senate.

Thirteen Republican Congressmen voted against the tax reform bill

The major sticking point for many Republicans was the elimination of the state and local tax deduction. The provision allowed taxpayers in high tax states like California, New York, and New Jersey, to write off tens of thousands of dollars.

With one exception, all of the Republican Congressmen who voted against the House GOP tax reform bill were from blue states with high taxes.

Rep. Walter Jones, from North Carolina, and New York Reps. Dan Donovan, John Faso, Pete King, Elise Stefanik and Lee Zeldin; New Jersey Reps. Rodney Frelinghuysen, Leonard Lance, Frank LoBiondo and Chris Smith; and California Reps. Darrell Issa, Tom McClintock and Dana Rohrabacher all voted against the bill.

Rep. Dan Donovan released a statement explaining his vote, as did John Faso, Pete King, Elise Stefanik, Lee Zeldin, Rodney Frelinghuysen, Leonard Lance, Frank LoBiondo, Chris Smith, Tom McClintock, and Dana Rohrabacher.

Congressman Darrell Issa even went on Fox News to discuss why he voted “no.”

Republicans who voted ‘no’ cited the removal of the state and local tax deduction

Each of the 12 Congressmen’s statements was different, but they all shared a common thread. The primary reason that these Republicans voted against tax reform was that it would mean taxes would increase for members of their districts.

Republicans aren’t supposed to be in favor of increasing taxes, especially not on their own constituents. Therefore, it’s hardly surprising that these 13 voted how they did.

(Photo of the 114th Congress by the Office of the Speaker of the House)


Leave a Comment